Commonwealths & Territories in the U.S.

  • American Samoa, Guam, and the Virgin Islands are all territories of the United States. Washington, D.C. and the Northern Mariana Islands are commonwealths. Puerto Rico was once a territory, but is now a commonwealth.

  • Territories and commonwealths are partially self-governing areas that have not been granted statehood. The indigenous peoples of these areas are citizens of the United States.

  • These areas may have one non-voting delegate in the House of Representatives

Reprinted from Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids

Explore USA
Explore the USA
Facts about the USA
Washington, D.C.
Explore the 50 states
Commonwealths and Territories
National Symbols
Explore USA Jump Back in Time! Meet the Americans The Government Let's Celebrate Life in U.S. For Teachers